16th May

I’ve had fun blending colours today and because it’s been such a lovely day, the prefelts that I made this morning dried very quickly and so I have even managed to make a piece of felt too! My hands are lovely and soft and smell like Olivia soap and all in all it’s been a productive day. Although I was supposed to be looking at my other piece and working from that, I got a bit distracted and ended up using a completely different colour scheme. Tomorrow, I will take a look again at the felt I made a couple of weeks ago and decide what to do with it. This one though, I am pleased with and already have an idea of what will be stitched into it. I still need to work at creating space within the composition and think I will make this a target for the coming weeks work. I also need to concentrate on my subject this week which is the stretch of land between Milford-on-Sea and Lymington.

Thinking of space within painting / textile work I always refer back to Rothko and another of my favourite painters, Barbara Rae. Rothko has been a favourite painter of mine since I was at art college – it’s the colour and the scale of the pieces that I love, and also the detail between the colours – the line where the two colours meet.

I find that felt can be just as luscious where the edge of one colour slightly bleeds into the edge of another, or if there is a darker or lighter colour on the underside of the felt – it can seep through to the surface.  This piece might benefit from a horizontal chop straight through the middle to simplify it, so that the eye is drawn more to the red, rather than the dominating dark blue marks. Part of my fascination with the sea is the horizon line. I could look at it all day!  I think that is another reason I like Rothko’s work – there are lots of horizontal lines. Barbara Rae, however is much more detailed and busy than Rothko.

In the piece above which is titled ‘Ceide’, which is a screen print, Rae uses a beautiful bright cerise with horizontal green and yellow lines to stand out from the darker blues. The horizontal lines of the green and yellows are the focal point of the piece but because they run in the same direction as the dark blue, your eye follows the shapes into the distance which in itself gives the image a sense of depth. Looking forward to tomorrow…

