Studio Days

Reflection and Preparation:  A whole year of teaching in a sixth form college has come to an end and I am back to being a full time artist. The past year has been wonderful and I am happily surprised that I have enjoyed teaching AS and A Level students. I never intended to become an A level teacher and the thought of it would have scared me a few years ago but now I can’t wait to find a new job. In the meantime though I have lots of plans for my textiles and am looking forward to getting started. I thought I might start a daily ‘today in my studio’ update – I seem to work better if I have something to show someone by the end of the day so this will be my motivation to kick start my work again. Over the past year I have learnt much about productivity, motivation and how much you can get done in one day and I am hoping that I will be able to put into practice a new discipline. This is of course if I can tear myself away from the gardening!

